Call Powder Horn Family Camping Resort Old Orchard Beach Maine

Frequently Asked Questions



Powder Horn is located just 8/10 mile to downtown Old Orchard Beach. Just a 15-20-minute walk.


The town of Old Orchard has a trolley service available during our busy season beginning 6/23/17. It stops right in our driveway and runs down to the beach every half hour (depending on traffic) between 10 am and midnight. The trolley costs $1 per person, per ride.


Reservations must be made by phone by calling 207-934-4733. You may also fill out a reservation information request form on our website and one of our reservations will get back to you. Please note that a reservation request does not guarantee a site, it is just an inquiry into availability.

 

Make A Reservation Inquiry



Sorry, personal checks are not accepted at check-in, we apologize for this inconvenience. We accept Cash, Mastercard, Visa, Discover, American Express, Travelers Checks and Money Orders.


Check-in on sites is anytime after 1:00 PM. Check-out time is 11:00 AM. Early check-ins and late check-outs are not permitted. Due to the large volume of campers, we cannot provide space for these. If you would like to stay later than 11:00 AM, please come to the office prior to 11:00 AM to re-register or to check site availability. Please be courteous and allow time for us to prepare for the next guests arriving on that site.


Please see our rates page for details about our cancellation policy.

Please Note: Failure to check-in on the scheduled arrival date, without notice, will forfeit your site and deposit as of 11 AM the following day.




Yes, when possible, but please check with the office for availability. Date changes without penalty require 14 days advanced notification. Shortening the dates of a reservation 13 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival will require payment in full for the entire reservation, and then a Powder Horn Camp Credit (minus $25.00 service fee) will be issued at check-in for the dates subtracted. All credits are made out to reservation holder and are non-transferable. Date changes made less than 24 hours prior to arrival time (1:00pm) will not be eligible for any credits or refunds.


Powder Horn Family Camping Resort is a little less than 1 mile from the Old Orchard Beach’s downtown area, which offers plenty of food and shopping and don’t forget the beautiful 7 miles of sandy beach. It is an approximate walking time of 15-20 minutes. There is also a trolley which conveniently stops at our resort, the cost is $1 each way. The trolley runs from Memorial Day to Labor day. Please see our “Trolley” link under the In The Area button.


Yes, these will be registered at check-in, free of charge. There is no bike riding in the park after dusk and all bikes must have Powder Horn tags visible when riding within the park. Please be aware that Maine State Law requires anyone 16 years or younger must wear a helmet while bike riding, but helmets are recommended for everyone. Violators of bike rules will be subject to loss of tag and privileges.

** The use of skateboards, roller blades, roller skates, rip-sticks, motorized scooters, mini-bikes, and children’s electric cars is not permitted in the campground. **



Yes, but they do count as a vehicle, so additional vehicle charges will apply. These are allowed, but can be disturbing to other campers. Please honor the quiet hours of 11 PM to 8 AM. Loud motorcycle owners must walk their bikes into the campground during quiet hours. Thank you for your cooperation.


Absolutely! Pets are allowed in RV’s and pop-ups only. They are not allowed with guests camping in tents or with visitors/overnight guests. Pets must be leashed at all times & NEVER left unattended, this includes in your trailer. They must also be under the supervision of a responsible person. Pets are not allowed at the pools, playgrounds, or in buildings and must be cleaned up after immediately. At registration, all up-to-date vaccination papers must be present and any aggressive behavior, barking, and general disruption will result in pet eviction.

 

View Our Detailed Pet Policy



Yes. All guests must be authorized by the site holder before entering the campground.  A Day Pass is valid from 8 AM to 10 PM. The price for visitors ages 5-17 is $7 per day and for ages 18+ is $12 per day. Day visitors are eligible for a full refund once per day if they have paid in cash and exit the park within 30 minutes of arrival. DOGS ARE NOT ALLOWED WITH VISITORS.


If a day visitor decides to stay overnight, payment will be applied to an overnight visitor fee. All guests must be authorized by the site holder before entering the campground. Overnight guests are welcome, any additional people not arriving with your party, and sleeping in your camping unit will be charged a $12.00 per person over the age 5 and up, and $7.00 per additional vehicle.


The front swimming pool complex generally opens at 9 am and closes at 10:30 pm, the back pool opens at 10 am and closes at 8 pm. There are no lifeguards at any time so please ensure that your children (ages 12 and under) are always supervised and that everyone obeys the pool rules posted at the entrance. Our pool is heated to 82’F and our “Adult’s Only” hot tub is kept at 104’F, while our children’s hot tub is kept at 98’F for health reasons.


You are welcome to put two tents on the same site. All sites come equipped with a picnic table and a fire ring. The site fee includes two people, one camping unit plus one tent, and one vehicle. Any additional people or vehicles are subject to additional charges. You cannot put 2 pop-ups on the same site.


We are a family camping resort and we cater to couples and families only. Sorry, no groups of singles are accepted in order to provide our customers with a quiet and peaceful vacation.


Absolutely!! All campsites are equipped with a campfire ring. Fire in and of itself is dangerous and must be kept under control and always tended to by an adult. It is prohibited to use any flammable liquid to start your fire. Fire-starters are available at the camp store for purchase. NO wood is to be added to the fire after 11 pm, and NO out of state wood is permitted.


There is free hospitality Wi-Fi available in most areas of the campground. Each guest is issued two, unique Wi-Fi codes at check-in. There is a courtesy internet kiosk, and network connections for laptops located in the rec hall. Must be 16 years or older to use the courtesy internet computer without adult supervision.